Funnelin combines it’s software with it’s experience and can offer a fully outsourced prospecting service on the LinkedIn platform.

Recent Posts

Quick business execution info@funnelin.co.uk
Back to top

FunnelIn

  /  blog   /  How to delete a LinkedIn account
Linkedin marketing

How to delete a LinkedIn account

How to delete a LinkedIn account? This is one of the most commonly asked questions by users, so here is our step-by-step guide.

Now, there are many reasons why you might want to delete a LinkedIn account. For example, you could be changing career and moving into a completely new sector. This means your current connections are no longer relevant and you wish to start with a clean slate.

If you are using LinkedIn as a lead generation tool, it’s no good accepting a lot of connections from people you don’t know. Sometimes it is best to clear the decks and start again, with a super targeted approach. 

Whatever your reasons, here we describe how to delete a LinkedIn account…

Will LinkedIn delete my information immediately?

The good news is that LinkedIn is more protective of your data than some social media networks. It will not wipe your data as LinkedIn says it needs to: “retain your information for so long as your account is active, or as needed to provide you services, except in the case of our professional plugin impression data, which we de-identify after 12 months.”

So although you can close your account, LinkedIn will keep your information to comply with its legal obligations, resolve disputes and enforce its privacy policy.

What if I want to speed up the process?

Users can bypass the automated system and personally request deletion of their information at any time by contacting LinkedIn customer service. LinkedIn says it responds to requests within 30 days. Please be aware that some information may still visible.

How to delete a LinkedIn account

Firstly, log-in to your LinkedIn account then on the home page click on ‘Me’ in the top right-hand corner to access your account menu.

On the drop-down menu, click on ‘Settings & Privacy’. In the left-hand menu, click on ‘Account preferences’ and then scroll down to ‘Account management’. Click on ‘Close account’.

The next page will ask you why you want to delete your account. Give a reason and then click ‘Continue’ to confirm the deletion. LinkedIn will then ask you to confirm.

Just to make sure, LinkedIn will ask you one final time to confirm before it closes your account. Please be aware that once you go through this process, there is no going back – you will be logged out and your profile will be erased within 24 hours.

You will not be able to open a new account immediately using the same email address, but you will only have to wait up to 24 hours.

Need more help?

Here at Funnelin, we combine clever software and social media expertise to offer a fully outsourced prospecting service on the LinkedIn platform.

If you want more leads from LinkedIn, contact us for a FREE consultation

Read our other blogs:

Post a Comment